RSS

Wow!

03 Apr

It was a particularly quiet afternoon in the I.T. Department. Just lately I have begun to suspect that our blessed computer users around the country have planted sensors in my chair as the phone only tends to ring when I sit in it on arrival in the morning or when I get up from it to make the tea, go to lunch or go home!

I had obviously remained seated for too long on this occasion as silence reigned. We have no projects on the go at the moment so my Manager was browsing the internet by way of having a break from his fourth streamed episode of “Torchwood” of the day!

I was taking a break from finding excuses to give the people who kept phoning to ask why the internet was so bloody slow today (due to the boss using up the bandwidth on episodes of “Torchwood” of course!) and trying hard to think of what to write next for this blog.

My manager, Mike, is a really nice bloke – an absolute saint compared to some of the self-serving, back-stabbing bastards it has sometimes been my misfortune to work for but I’ll deal properly with THEM another time! He puts up with a lot – the fact that he has a degree in computer stuff is somewhat counteracted by the fact that he is nineteen years younger than me! In fact there used to be three of us and the other guy was even older than me. On hearing Mike starting to lose it when dealing with an over-persistent supplier of something we didn’t actually want we used to look at each other and mouth “KIDS!”

But, as is my way, I digress.

Mike suddenly burst out with “Wow!” – this is often his way of getting me to ask him what he is looking at so I obliged. I should point out at this juncture that Mike is a Sci-Fi Geek of the first order. I mean to say I’m a bit of a fan and have watched a lot on TV in my time – Doctor Who from Day One, Blakes 7, Hitchhikers Guide, Heroes, etc. etc. but my interest was always primarily in reading it.

Mike however watches it all. I don’t know how he does it as he also watches all of the “Crime Scene Investigation” varieties as well and there really don’t seem to be enough hours in a day!

When I queried his outburst he asked me, “Do you know who did the opening voiceover of the original series of “Battlestar Galactica”? The original series not the recent “re-visualisation”?”

Rather than destroying my credibility as a fellow Sci-fi geek by admitting that I had not seen a single episode of the original series and was not remotely interested in the latest version, I dragged my memory for any useful snippets of knowledge of “BG” which might give me a clue.

“Never really noticed” I replied, “but if pressed I would probably assume it was Lorne Green (who appeared in the original film and TV series)” See what I did there? – left him thinking I was a) Interested, and b) knew what he was talking about!

“ I thought that too” he said, “but it wasn’t”.

Now I have been addicted to the accrual of General Knowledge since I was given a sixteen volume children’s encylopaedia when I was ten years old and it always amazes me just where the odd facts that I know come from. It turns out to be from conversations like this one!

So, the next time I’m at a pub quiz and someone asks me “who did the voiceover for the original series of Battlestar Galactica?” I will be able to tell them.

“It was Patrick McGoohan”.

You thought for a moment there that I wasn’t going to tell you, didn’t you?

Alfie

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 3, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Wow!

  1. Cy Quick

    January 23, 2011 at 7:16 am

    Will the fascinating world of show biz survive as long as humanity itself? If so, it must be part that we fortunate fans, suffering neither ‘resting’ nor inglorious filler-work, and yet graciously tolerated by our talented superiors, will also abide. When faith and politics, one day, die, we can concentrate on the important things in life. Patrick McGoohan eh?

     

Leave a Reply

 
