RSS

Poolside jottings – Part 2 – Breakfast in Tenerife!

03 Apr

The hotel that Faith and I are staying at in Puerto Santiago has a very extensive breakfast buffet! So extensive in fact that it has not been unheard of for me to have no less than FOUR different sorts of sausage with my Bacon & Eggs in the morning!

Still, I do think that the concept of “five-a-day” should apply to meat as well as fruit & vegetables, don’t you?

In fact, after I wrote the draft of this article, a morning came when in addition to the meat choice mentioned above I COULD have had (but didn’t!) boiled egg, fried egg, scrambled egg, scrambled egg with bits of ham in it AND a slice of Spanish Omelette – which would have been “five-a-day” on the egg front too!

At breakfast time they also have an open chilled cabinet with bottles of Cava (the Spanish equivalent of Champagne in case you didn’t know) from which guests can help themselves.

I’m sure there are sound economic reasons for getting the guests plastered that early in the day or perhaps they have acquired the idea that that is how the British, French and Germans do breakfasts at home! That, however, is not what I wanted to tell you about.

One morning I observed a large sunburned gentleman in his 60s arrive at the Cava cabinet. I THINK he was German but I didn’t hear him speak so I can’t be sure. He just LOOKED German somehow.

At the cabinet he filled a glass to the brim, drank it down in one go, repeated the process TWICE more and then took a fourth full glass back to his table. Slightly unsteadily I thought but that wouldn’t be surprising, would it?

A couple of minutes after he sat down his wife arrived at the table bearing a half glass of orange juice. When she sat down hubby got up immediately to get some food.

The moment his back was turned (and I saw her checking that he couldn’t see!) she grabbed his glass of Cava and poured more than half of it into her orange juice!

As I watched I pondered that while I could have no way of knowing just how long they might have been married, he at least had plainly LEARNED something in that time!

Alfie

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 3, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Poolside jottings – Part 2 – Breakfast in Tenerife!

  1. Mike

    April 4, 2010 at 6:56 am

    …You used to be able to buy decent-sized CIGARS for about SIX PENCE EACH in Tenerife. Can you still?

     
    • littlealfie

      April 5, 2010 at 5:17 pm

      I’m terribly sorry but I’m afraid I just didn’t notice!

      20 years ago I’d have been buying and smoking ’em myself but I gave up in January 1994 and now just pay no attention.

      I DO know how irritating that probably is for you to hear – I feel the same way when I hear someone has been to the coast and HASN’T been fishing!

       

Leave a Reply

 
