RSS

Football shorts – 8

22 Jun

As I said at the start of this series of World Cup related snippets I am an England supporter!

That’s a bit like the classic admission “I am an alcoholic” in that it’s something you don’t ask for, or necessarily even want – you can’t help it  – it just creeps up on you!

I remember the Final (and ONLY the Final) of the 1966 World Cup, being at the time 13 years old and more interested in playing football than watching it.

I remember hearing OF the result of the 1970 match at which the Germans took revenge for their defeat 4 years earlier but didn’t watch any of it being more interested in Darts and Steward & Patterson’s Best Bitter (1 shilling and 10 pence a pint in old money; 9p in the new – ten pints for a quid however you count it).

What I DO remember is England’s abject failure to qualify for the 1974 event and a whole series of disappointments since including other failures to qualify, games lost on penalties and a general sense of the team being spectacularly good at snatching defeat from the jaws of victory!

And now it’s happening again!

After a series of successful qualifying games which saw us through to South Africa with 2 games to spare, England are struggling to go further and only a victory against Slovenia tomorrow will do!

Given the history I have little hope that this bunch will do the necessary and fear that they’re going to let me down as usual!

I will however, in my usual effort mentally to command Hope to triumph over Reality, follow the match in its entirety and will be singing “It’s coming home….” under my breath!

Well, we’ll see won’t we?

And if it turns out well I will be the first to say “I KNEW they would do it” although then I’ll have the “knock-out” stages to worry about!

It would be NICE to be able to have confidence for a change!

Alfie

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 22, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Football shorts – 8

  1. Mike

    June 23, 2010 at 4:38 am

    I like football. It’s short and quite exciting. How many balls can the footballist kick past the goal attendant?

    But why do they run around that field for two hours, first?

    No wonder Americans don’t like it.

     
    • littlealfie

      June 23, 2010 at 11:19 am

      I’m glad to see you still understand the game – that’s why we were both so good at it at school!

      SO good that they let us do “Cross-Country-Walk-and-a-nice-chat” instead of playing football!

      Alfie

       

Leave a Reply

 
