RSS

Football shorts – 9

23 Jun

After the last slightly depressing posting in this series I thought I’d share with you a couple of things I’ve heard (or rather hoped that I’d misheard)!

Scene 1: I was listening on the car radio last Friday to USA vs Slovenia. Someone had done a long pass for a Slovenian forward to chase and the USA ‘keeper had to decide whether to stay on his line or rush out and try to beat the forward to the ball. 

The commentator said:  “The goalkeeper has decided to come…..<pause>… he’s pumped a massive clearance back down the pitch”!

“Ewww!” I thought, “that’s worse than some of the things they used to say when our goalkeeper was David Seaman”!

Scene 2 : Caught the last couple of minutes of Argentina vs Greece last night  – in the after-match analysis someone said that “in the last 30 minutes Messi literally exploded”!

I don’t suppose he meant “literally” but it made me think “Messy”!

Finally, I’d like to share with you the Facebook status entry used yesterday by my friend Gary in King’s Lynn –

I hear the England team have been to visit an orphanage in South Africa today.
“It’s so good to put a smile on the faces of people with no hope, constantly struggling and facing the impossible”, said Jamal Umboto, age 6.

Relieved some of the tension caused by England reaching the knock-out stage one match earlier than everyone else, that did.

Alfie

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 23, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
