RSS

Do not adjust your set!

01 Dec

Or rather your monitor!

This time last year (as those who commented on it will remember) I turned on a little WordPress gizmo which gave a rather quaint impression of snow falling down my screen.

And it was only when my readers started asking if there was something wrong with their screens that I realised that it was pretty damn stupid of me to put such an effect on a white page! It just made your eyes go funny!

I didn’t turn it off because it was advertised as only being available for a limited time but I noticed that this morning, with the arrival of December – IT’S BACK!

So to repeat last year’s message, there is nothing wrong with either your eyes or your computer equipment!

If it bothers people I will turn it off but if you aren’t sure exactly what I’m talking about try using your mouse to highlight a chunk of the text on this page. That usually results in a blue background against which the snow can be seen.

Alternately, if you want snow falling all over your WordPress blog, go to the Dashboard, the section headed “Appearance” and click on “Extras”. Then tick boxes as required.

N.B. For the benefit of those who do not read the comments to these posts  (Why ever not! They’re often more entertaining than me!) I can confirm that the snow effect on a white background DID annoy a couple of people including me and I have therefore turned it off!

If you want to see how it’s meant to look try http://damienatloppers.wordpress.com/ 

Alfie

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 1, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “Do not adjust your set!

  1. Vincent

    December 1, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    Ta for the info. If you hit http://damienatloppers.wordpress.com/ you’ll see I’ve gone ALL seasonal!

     
  2. Vincent

    December 1, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    p.s. The snow works GREAT on Damien – what with its BLACK background. Curious how the snow changes direction when you waggle your curser around!

     
  3. sumpnado

    December 1, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    What can I say amidst such innocent happiness? I HATE the screen snow, which irritates me, but I ignore it and keep calm. And I hate REAL snow too, although it makes the temperature rise temporarily when it first falls on the ground, but then it quickly gets trodden, frozen, and dangerous underfoot.

     
  4. littlealfie

    December 1, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    As I said, it was a pretty stupid idea to run the snow thing on a white background and as it’s annoying me too I’ve turned it off.

    We’ll let the man enduring the horrible tropical temperatures play with it!

    Alfie

     
  5. sumpnado

    December 5, 2010 at 5:59 pm

    Indeed… Poor dude… (Why am going ha-ha and sob-sob at the same time?)

     

Leave a Reply

 
