RSS

The CD of my Life: Introduction.

16 Apr

I’m sure I have mentioned this project before (although I cannot be bothered to go through all of the 160+ previous posts here to find out exactly where) and it will take the form of a series all bearing the basic title “The CD of my Life” with the addition of the title of a piece of popular music and the relevant Artiste.

The original idea for this came from my realisation that particular songs trigger in my mind VERY particular memory associations with times, places and/or people in great detail.

It does work both ways – if someone mentions an event from my past I often make an instant connection with a song (and there is usually only one – not the entire top 10 for that week) that I associate with that event.

So, what it boils down to is that it I felt that it should be possible to produce a compilation music CD (or three!) the “sleeve notes” to which would represent my autobiography. Why not have a go at one of your own?

Some of these pieces will be newly written but others will be edited notes that I made, initially, in the Windmill Tavern, Orton Waterville on Thursday evenings while waiting for the rest of my quiz team to arrive.

I should explain that the quiz (which ceased 18 months ago when someone spent about a million quid tarting the place up and decided they didn’t want our sort in there any more) was very popular and if you wanted a table for your team you had to get there early to bag one! Because of this I used to get there an hour and a half before the 9 p.m. start to occupy an appropriately sized table and hold it against all “Do you need ALL those seats?” queries until reinforcements arrived.

It was a lot easier to avoid eye contact with such people if I was obviously concentrating on writing furiously in my little notebook and little snippets of music-associated biography were something I could scribble for as long as necessary.

I do not intend to let myself be tied down to anything even remotely resembling chronological order (although there is an obvious start point which will be next) but I will, if this proves possible, include a link to any available online copy of the song concerned via YouTube or similar.

I also want you clearly to understand that just because a particular song unlocks a memory box in my head it does not mean that I necessarily LIKE the song in question!

To give you an example AND provide a track to associate with this article I offer the following song which not only brings back all those pub quizzes to me but which I also cannot stand!

It is “Sex on the Beach” by a Dutch outfit named “T-Spoon” (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v-r2TYOBns8) and the reason it sets off those memories is that it cropped up in the music round about once every 6 weeks on average. And each time it appeared the question master would tell us that the correct artist was “The VengaBoys” (who are also Dutch and produced similar stuff of the genre I call “Eurocrap” at about the same time). Extensive research revealed that however prevalent the online belief that the VengaBoys recorded it may be – it is WRONG! They never have recorded or covered it.

All of the teams who aspired to some degree of professionalism got utterly fed up with not being allowed a point for being RIGHT and came to an agreement that whenever it turned up we would all put “T-Spoon NOT VengaBoys – look it up!” on our answer sheets and award ourselves a point regardless! Regrettably the quizzes stopped before the organisers got the message!

So that’s the sort of thing you’ve got to expect and while other unrelated articles will be interspersed among this series, I have to warn you  – it could go on for YEARS!

Alfie

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 16, 2011 in CD of my Life

 

6 responses to “The CD of my Life: Introduction.

  1. Vincent

    April 16, 2011 at 6:16 pm

    Ten years ago, when I used to go wenching (I’ve been happily married for the decade since, so am now beyond such things) the Vengaboys were very popular with the bar-girls here. The favourite song was…

    Enjoy!

     
    • Alfie

      April 16, 2011 at 10:11 pm

      Oh! That’s horrible! Euro crap at its Eurocrappiest!

       
      • Vincent

        April 17, 2011 at 8:27 am

        True – but young Thai girls used to find the tempo was perfect “wiggling” speed!

         
  2. Vincent

    April 16, 2011 at 6:24 pm

    p.s. To get a flavour of those days – here’s a piece I put up…

     
    • Alfie

      April 16, 2011 at 10:13 pm

      That looks a lot of fun but how come these women have NO BUM?!

       
  3. Vincent

    April 17, 2011 at 8:26 am

    ‘Cause they’re YOUNG! Give ’em another couple of years…

    Unlike Chinese and Japanese women – Thai women have FABULOUS arses!

     

Leave a Reply

 
