RSS

Always know where your towel is!

25 May

I don’t actually get very many texts on my mobile phone. This isn’t, apparently, because my friends and family would rather SPEAK to me but seems to highlight the fact that they don’t actually want to communicate with me AT ALL!

The texts I do get have to be placed in the category “Strange”!

These are usually from two sources – the first being my sister who is, in my opinion anyway, far too busy and who saves time by sending texts with all the vowels omitted! I often need the services of an Enigma code machine to work out what the hell she is talking about.

I do, however, get my revenge by replying to her at great length, in full and with perfect punctuation. So the time it takes her to read it cancels out the seconds she saved by truncating the original message! That’s what big brothers are for!

The other major source of texts is my Welsh friend Mike T from Ledbury and his texts usually relate either to something I should watch or listen to on TV or Radio or gloating about some music gig he’s attending and which he knows I would like to be at!

And then, this morning, I received the following rather cryptic message from him:

“Happy Towel Day! I have mine to hand!”

This meant nothing so my first thought was “What IS this man on!”

My second thought was that he had sent it to me by mistake and my third was that I should look it up.

Knowing this particular friend quite well I had a vague idea that it would probably have something to do with our mutual love of the literary works of the late, great, Douglas Adams  – the towel, of course, being the one essential piece of travelling kit of any Galactic Hitchhiker. Sure enough this turns out to be the case.

What I hadn’t anticipated, however, was quite how big a deal this annual commemoration has become – the website that I checked out, http://www.towelday.org/ lists hundreds of events and special offers in dozens of countries around the world. Try it and see.

What does it involve? Well, basically, the idea is that if you are a fan of the late Mr Adams you carry a towel with you (or, better still, WEAR one) on 25th May. This can get you discounts in various book stores in Australia and grant admission to various parties across the globe.

Why 25th May? It isn’t, as I first guessed, the anniversary of the great man’s death! It is, in fact, the anniversary of TWO WEEKS AFTER his death which is when one particular fan had the idea. And given Douglas’s quirky sense of humour I’m sure he’d appreciate a twist like a meaningless 14 day offset of the commemoration of the date of his passing.

So that’s another important event to be put in the diary for future celebration, along with “Talk like a Pirate Day” on 19th September each year. No more or less silly than “Saints Days” if you ask me!

Oh, by the way, I did check and I DO have a towel in the box of odds and ends in the boot of my car so I AM part of the celebration!

Alfie

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 25, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Always know where your towel is!

  1. Vincent

    May 26, 2011 at 11:17 am

    I ht Tlk Lk Prt Dy – mks yr thrt ach!

     
  2. Vincent

    May 26, 2011 at 11:19 am

    (Just in case that was TOO esoteric, it was: I hate “Talk Like A Pirate Day” – makes your throat ache!)

     
  3. Cy Quick

    June 21, 2011 at 9:29 am

    I like your “…given Douglas’s quirky sense of humour I’m sure he’d appreciate a twist like a meaningless 14 day offset of the commemoration of the date of his passing…” Indeed! The words “quirky” “twist” and “meaningless” focus in nicely upon the style of humour of that genius. I heard the trailer on Radio 4 after the Six O Clock News. It was something I could not miss. I wish I had not slung out the Pan paperback “The Original Radio Scripts”. I will Search it on Amazon. Then, when I have read it and cuddled it to my breast for a while, I will sling it out again. Otherwise I will have nothing to regret.

     
  4. Cy Quick

    June 21, 2011 at 9:31 am

    Yes, it was WAY too esoteric for me. How kind of Vincent to explain his text-style vowel-free Comment.

     

Leave a Reply

 
