RSS

Rebranding – the lazy way to write!

15 Oct

I have been going through my little notebook (the one in which I started jotting down the notes that ultimately became this blog while keeping seats for the quiz team on Thursday nights) and I found my original list for the “CD of my life” series.

On reading through that list I found that some of the memories that I wrote down four or five years ago along with their associated songs were already turned into articles long before I conceived of the idea of the “CD of…..” series.

In other words, I have already done the “sleeve notes” for a large chunk of that CD without actually realising it.

You may have read (and if not; why not?) my recent piece concerning my employment in deepest darkest Norfolk and I have to add to that the fact that the job is turning out to require me frequently to be in at 7.30am and out at 7.30pm several days each week! Add to that the 90 minute drive at each end of that day and you will realise that by the time I get in at night I am too utterly knackered to do anything creative like writing!

Before you start to worry too much about me I would just like to say that the daily pay rate, even working  an average of 10 hours a day, still equates to an hourly rate higher than anything I’ve ever earned before – so I am not unhappy about it! Thanks for your concern anyway!

So, as I am sure you are already beginning to work out, I have spotted a very simple way of keeping activity going on this site while not having to spend hours cudgelling my tired brain into activity to create new stuff.

I will, quite simply be going back to some of those old articles which have a “music to memory” association and tarting them up to make them fit into the “CD of my life” format.

Or, as I prefer to think of it, “Filing off the serial numbers and selling them to you all over again”!

I don’t see it as cheating – you may have missed some of them first time round – at least I have warned you so you won’t be fretting about weird “déjà vu” feelings.

There will be new stuff too from time to time – I have by no means exhausted the list of things I wish to write about.

Sorry about that!

Alfie

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 15, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Rebranding – the lazy way to write!

  1. Vincent

    October 16, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    DAMN, I did some of that 100-hours-a-week working, when I was in my thirties. It nearly KILLED me! How the HELL do you manage it NOW?! (Remember – I know how OLD you are – same frickin’ age as ME!)

    At least I’ll understand if I don’t hear from you much.

    You be CAREFULL now, y’hear?

     
  2. Cy Quick

    October 21, 2011 at 11:49 pm

    I am awed. OK, I did spells of moonlighting in the mid 1960’s, sales clerk by day, pint-puller in the evening, but only for a few months at a time, and all within 15 minutes walk of home (in downtown Plymouth). Three hours drive daily? I am cowering into my couch at the shocking thought.

     
  3. Alfie

    October 23, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    Thanks for both of the above comments – I’m not sure HOW I’m doing it either! I do know WHY I’m doing it – MONEY, MONEY, MONEY! You will be relieved to be advised, however, that as a contractor I can claim tax relief on certain items that ordinary employees cannot – mileage from home, overnight accommodation etc.- and I have worked out that if I stay at a B&B nearby it comes to less per day after tax relief than the actual COST of petrol.

    So that’s what I’m doing from tomorrow!

    Blog productivity may not, therefore, be as affected as I had first thought. I bet you’re pleased about THAT!

    No, I didn’t think so!

    Alfie

     

Leave a Reply

 
