RSS

The official Alfie Christmas message, 2011

24 Dec

To my loyal readers, greetings from your humble scribe!

Now I know that the last couple of months have been a little sparse as far as contributions to this column are concerned but as many of you will know I have been working rather hard and haven’t been up to writing very much!

My latest contract, which has involved converting a rather large network (meaning about 1500 PC users) to Windows 7 has finished today – Hurrah! This has entailed going around the days “customers” to make sure that all of their data has been backed up, rebuilding their PC with the new operating system after they have left for the day and then returning at their arrival time next morning to help them through the changes. I have consoled myself during these times by calculating roughly how many WEEKS Jobseekers Allowance I have earned each DAY!

Because of this regime I have, since October, frequently suffered 12, 13 or 14 hour working days and on returning to my room in a Bed & Breakfast establishment in Heacham each night the last thing I have wanted to look at has been a computer! I am glad to be out of that B&B right now as it is currently occupied by shift-working coppers from the Royal Protection Squad working at Sandringham – I’m extremely surprised to find that there is insufficient “staff” accommodation in that bloody great house for them!

Still, as I said earlier, it’s all over now and I’m delighted to be back amongst you all again.

My generous employers kindly allowed us to leave the premises at 3pm on Friday – a whole hour before the normal leaving time – which meant that I did the first 20 miles of the trip home in daylight. I mention this because it enabled me to see a rather inebriated gentleman walking up the grass verge towards me and repeatedly shaking his fist at a field full of pigs! I REALLY want to know what THAT was all about!

And just as I was about to leave Norfolk and re-enter Cambridgeshire, I caught a Radio Norfolk traffic broadcast reporting an accident somewhere in the County involving “two cars and a Bull!”

Only in Norfolk, readers, only in Norfolk!

Anyway, I am now looking forward to catching up on some of my partly completed pieces and getting this show back on the road again. So while you wait for those dubious delights to appear I will simply wish you all an enjoyable holiday and a prosperous new year.

Best wishes,

Alfie

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 24, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “The official Alfie Christmas message, 2011

  1. Gazza

    December 24, 2011 at 12:23 am

    NFN

     
  2. Alfie

    December 24, 2011 at 10:45 am

    ….which for the uninitiated is an acronym that had to be removed from medical records when patients became able to see them! It stands for “Normal for Norfolk”!

     

Leave a Reply

 
