RSS

Happy New Year everyone.

19 Mar

Ah, there you are! Where have you been?

What do you mean, where have I been? I’ve been here all along, waiting for someone to ask why I haven’t written anything since three weeks before last Christmas!

And now someone HAS asked so I will condescend to bless you all with some new literary gems!

Seriously though, I’m not really that arrogant and egotistical and the real reason for my absence from this page for so long is quite simple – I lost interest!

The last piece I published – about the Chief Constable of Scotland apparently announcing that they are executing Drink Drivers up there – was done on the spur of the moment during my lunch break and on the same little HP EliteBook 2530 laptop that I am writing this on.

It was also done during the second week of my latest contract when I was just shadowing trained workers to pick up the quirks of my latest customers without actually having to talk to them and sort out their computer problems.

Yes, that’s right! I have changed jobs yet again – my eighteen month contract as an additional helpdesk “resource” in Spalding while the company upgraded its computers ran out when the funding expired exactly as predicted at the end of November. Just for a change I had sufficient advanced warning and actually had my current job lined up before the old contract ended.

I am back at the same company I was doing my first Windows 7 contract with in April 2011 – they have relocated from Huntingdon to a new office about 4 miles from my home – and am on the team providing IT Helpdesk services to two retail chains. The larger of these has shops on nearly every High Street and sounds like a good place to buy a tartan sweater while the other is incredibly prestigious with only about 6 branches and sounds like it might be called “Nervy Heckles”.

It has to be said that none of the people who call me are particularly “computer-savvy” and a great many either have absolutely no interest in this tool that the company has provided or are actually scared of it – sometimes in quite an aggressive way! Twenty or thirty calls a day from such people tend to be rather wearing and it has taken a while for me to want anything to do with my own computer when I get home at the end of each day.

I am, however, coming out of that tunnel again and, in addition to this piece I have just finished another article and you may find that your worst fears are realised and the “flow” has started again!

So, to conclude, I will cut out the Christmas bit and just say:

“A belated Happy New Year to all my readers”.

Alfie

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 19, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
