RSS

Something is happening!

01 Feb

Usually my blog posts get seen by my friend Mike Thomas over in Herefordshire, by my daughter Hannah and my old school-friend and Thailand resident Mike Vincent – the two last named do, I believe, actually subscribe to this site and receive an email whenever anything new is published.

New postings also pop up on my own (i.e. the owner of the real hand that operates Little Alfie like some creepy glove puppet) Facebook page and I can tell from my admin page how many people have looked at the site, what pages they looked at and where in the world they were looking from.

What it doesn’t tell me is WHO they are  – so your guilty blog-reading secrets are perfectly safe!

And for some reason the readership stats have suddenly shot up! At some point around the end of last week they jumped from an average of 2 or 3 “hits” per day to somewhere around 25!

These (presumably) new readers are all in the UK and it is interesting to note that the pages they have visited are all ones that I have classified as “Schooldays” (if you cannot face reading ALL of the almost 300 posts here you can narrow it down by choosing one of the Categories listed at the bottom of the right hand side menu) suggesting that he or they are people I have known from Copleston Secondary Modern School for Boys or (even earlier) Luther Road or Britannia Road Junior Schools in Ipswich.

If you are an old Coplestonian and want to read the collected works of Mike Vincent as well you can find them in the “blogroll” or favourites menu down the right side of this page. His are the ones named “Cornelius”, “Damien” and “Morpheus”. If you don’t mind, please finish mine before you start on his!

Thus far the new reader(s) have remained too shy to add any comments or otherwise identify themselves so it’s all very mysterious.

So may I just say “Hello” and “Welcome” whoever you are, and I hope you enjoy what you are reading.

If you don’t want to tell the world (or the strictly limited Little Alfie readership anyway) who you are and what you think of it please feel free to email direct to littlealfie@hotmail.com which is set to forward all messages to one of my “proper” email accounts.

I will enjoy hearing from you.

Alfie

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 1, 2017 in Schooldays

 

3 responses to “Something is happening!

  1. Vincent

    February 2, 2017 at 6:08 pm

    Thanks for the plugs! Re Copleston Sec Mod – these days it’s called Copleston High School and so I always refer to it as “Copleston High” – sounds SO much cooler! My one concession to Americanism…

     
    • Alfie

      February 3, 2017 at 12:59 am

      I agree that it SOUNDS cooler but the regrettable fact is that, in its current incarnation Copleston High is a fairly mediocre “Sports Academy” (whatever that is)!

      Not the breeding ground of high class intellectuals such as thee and me that it used to be!

       
    • Alfie

      February 3, 2017 at 1:03 am

      By the way I got another spike on the viewing stats as soon as I published that piece. Given the plugs to your sites did you notice anything similar?

       

Leave a Reply

 
